Uta Gebert

graduate of the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst "Ernst Busch" Berlin and the École Supérieure Nationale des Arts de la Marionnette Charleville-Mézières in France. She has developed a very unique aesthetic language, distinctive of her solo work. The spoken word is subordinate to mysterious, minimalistic images, which are the bearers of meaning.

Apart from her solo work, Uta Gebert cooperated with several international directors. From 2001 to 2007, she guested as a puppeteer in multiple productions of the American director, scenographer and puppeteer Roman Paska. Since 2015, she has an engagement as a puppeteer and actress in the production The Ventriloquists Convention by Gisèle Vienne. 

Uta Gebert is an instinctive artist. She invents her own artistic world with great sensitivity and her puppets have the ability to oscillate between absence and presence. The very special rhythm of her shows also participates in creating unusual bonds with the audience. With small gestures, she creates an associative, delicate and poetic theatrical experience.

„Uta Gebert’s puppets take their time to let their eyes wander, while never revealing where they are directing their gaze or what they are looking at. They contemplate symbolic spaces whose location cannot be determined. They are anywhere and nowhere. They are the future, past, life, death. In this way, worlds emerge into an empty space – when you try to enter them, they disappear. (...) And even though the view extends far  into the unknown, as spectators we are always left with the sense of a world that is oddly close to us, that each of us is familiar with, in his/her own way.”

Gert Engel (Das Portrait - www.fidena.de)

 

In 2015 Uta Gebert was honored by the Institut International de la Marionnette with the Prize for "Creation/Experimenation" rewarding a recent young artist / company who has renewed the language, practices and aesthetic forms of the arts of puppetry.

 

 Uta Gebert lives and works in Berlin.

Numen Company

was founded in Berlin in 2013 on the initiative of Uta Gebert

 

Numen Company is a synonym for the artistic renewal of the contemporary puppet theatre that transcends the boundaries of the genre. Over the course of her career, Uta Gebert did cooperations with several European theatres that support and sponsor her. Starting with a self-managed solo in 2005 up to the award Création et Expérimentation of the Institut de la Marionnette in Charleville-Mézières in 2015, the performer and scenographer incorporated a contemporary style into a form of art that is, up to today, in uenced by tradition.

She uses the stage as a space for scenic experiments and artistic research, her creativity is inspired by intuition, inventive curiosity and productive spontaneity. Uta Gebert develops her own language on the stage that is marked by special visual aesthetics. An objective style of narration and a structural minimalism give each of her productions a precise and essential touch. She creates mysterious visuals of poetic beauty and an enormous power of seduction, beyond the well-known reality.

For each project different artists are invited for an artistique exchange, thus in the past: Michel Cerda, Gabriel-Hermand-Priquet, Ilka Schönbein, Inga Schmidt, Hahn Rowe.

Since 2000 the Schaubude Berlin has been supporting and co-producing all of Uta Gebert’s shows. Numen Company has been collaborating with the Centre Dramatique National d’Alsace – Strasbourg since 2013.

 

The shows have been performed on national and international festivals:

  • Out the Box Kapstadt – Südafrika (review)
  • TIP Festival Turku – Finnland (review)
  • Fidena Bochum – Deutschland (Kritik)
  • Festival Mondial des Theâtres de Marionnettes Charleville-Mézières – Frankreich
  • Festival Internacional de Marionetas Porto – Portugal
  • MiMa Festival des arts de la Marionnette Mirepoix – Frankreich
  • Internationales Figurentheaterfestival Erlangen – Deutschland
  • Semaine Internationale de la Marionnette Neuchatel – Schweiz
  • Spectaculo Interesse Divadlo Loutek Ostrava - Tschechien
  • TamTam Festival Paris – Frankreich (critique) 
  • Unidram Festival Potsdam – Deutschland
  • Mindelact Festival Sao Vincente / Mindelo - Cabo Verde (review)
  • Materia Prima Festival Cracow - Poland (review)
  • Festival Geo Condé Frouard - Frankreich

Uta Gebert

studierte Puppenspiel an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ Berlin und an der École Supérieure Nationale des Arts de la Marionnette Charleville-Mézières in Frankreich. Seit 1996 ist sie als freiberufliche Puppenspielerin im In- und Ausland tätig. In ihren Soloarbeiten entwickelte sie eine sehr eigene ästhetische Sprache. Das gesprochene Wort tritt hinter den sehr reduzierten, geheimnisvollen Bildern als Sinnträger zurück. 

Parallel zu ihrer solistischen Arbeit kooperiert Uta Gebert mit verschiedenen internationalen Regisseuren. Von 2001 bis 2007 gastierte sie als Puppenspielerin in mehreren Produktionen des amerikanischen Regisseurs, Szenografen und Puppenspielers Roman Paska. Seit 2015 ist sie als Puppenspielerin und Darstellerin für die Inszenierung The Ventriloquists Convention von Gisèle Vienne engagiert.

Uta Gebert beherrscht die Kunst der Simplizität in ihren Geschichten. Sie ist eine instinktive Künstlerin, deren Figuren mit sparsamen, präzisen und minimalistischen Bewegungen auskommen. Im Zwischenreich von Leben und Tod imaginiert sie mit viel Einfühlungsvermögen ihre eigene Kunstwelt. Der ganz besondere Rhythmus ihrer Stücke trägt dazu bei, dass eine ungewöhnliche Verbindung zum Publikum entsteht.

„Uta Geberts Puppen verwenden viel Zeit, ihren Blick schweifen zu lassen. Aber niemals verraten sie, wohin sie sehen oder was genau sie betrachten. Sie schauen symbolische Räume, die nicht zu lokalisieren sind. Sie sind irgendwo und nirgends. Sie sind Zukunft, Vergangenheit, Leben, Tod. So entstehen Welten in einem leeren Raum: versucht man sie zu betreten, verschwinden sie. (…) Und auch wenn der Blick weit ins Fremde geht, bleibt für uns Betrachter doch immer das Gefühl einer Welt, die uns auf seltsame Weise nahe ist, die wir alle genau kennen, jeder für sich.“ 

Gert Engel  (Das Portrait - www.fidena.de)

 

2015 wurde Uta Gebert vom Institut International de la Marionnette in Frankreich mit dem Preis in der Kategorie "Création/Expérimentation" ausgezeichnet.

 

Uta Gebert lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Numen Company

gegründet im Jahr 2013 in Berlin von Uta Gebert.

 

Die Numen Company ist Synonym der Genregrenzen übergreifenden künstlerischen Erneuerung der zeitgenössischen Puppen-, Figuren- und Objekttheater. Im Laufe ihrer Berufsjahre ist Uta Gebert Kooperationen mit verschiedenen europäischen Theatern eingegangen, die sie unterstützen und fördern. Von einem selbst verwalteten Solo (2005) bis zu dem Preis Création und Expérimentation des Instituts de la Marionnette von Charleville-Mézières (2015) hat die Darstellerin und Szenografin Uta Gebert einen zeitgenössischen Stil in eine Kunst eingebracht, deren Verständnis noch immer von Tradition geprägt ist.

Sie nutzt die Bühne als Raum für szenische Versuche und künstlerische Recherchen, ihre Kreativität wird inspiriert von einem hohen Maß an Intuition, schöpferischer Neugier und produktiver Spontanität. Uta Gebert entwickelt ihre eigene individuelle Bühnensprache, geprägt von einer besonderen visuellen Ästhetik. Ausgehend von erzählerischer Sachlichkeit und strukturellem Minimalismus, gibt sie jeder ihrer Inszenierungen einen präzisen und essenziellen Gestus. So entstehen geheimnisumwobene Bildwelten von poetischer Schönheit und enormer Verführungskraft, jenseits vertrauter Realitäten.

Für Ihre Produktionen arbeitet Uta Gebert mit unterschiedlichsten Künstlern zusammen. Die Musiker Ulrich Kodjo Wendt und Mark Badur sind langjährige Wegbegleiter. Gabriel Hermand-Priquet, Ilka Schönbein, Michel Cerda, Inga Schmidt, Hahn Rowe sind weitere Kooperationspartner.

Seit dem Jahr 2000 unterstützt und koproduziert die Schaubude Berlin die Arbeiten von Uta Gebert. Die Numen Company arbeitet seit 2013 zudem mit dem Centre Dramatique National d‘Alsace in Straßburg zusammen.

 

Die Stücke wurden bereits auf nationalen und internationalen Festivals gezeigt:  

  • Out the Box Kapstadt – Südafrika (review)
  • TIP Festival Turku – Finnland (review)
  • Fidena Bochum – Deutschland (Kritik)
  • Festival Mondial des Theâtres de Marionnettes Charleville-Mézières – Frankreich
  • Festival Internacional de Marionetas Porto – Portugal
  • MiMa Festival des arts de la Marionnette Mirepoix – Frankreich
  • Internationales Figurentheaterfestival Erlangen – Deutschland
  • Semaine Internationale de la Marionnette Neuchatel – Schweiz
  • Spectaculo Interesse Divadlo Loutek Ostrava - Tschechien
  • TamTam Festival Paris – Frankreich (critique) 
  • Unidram Festival Potsdam – Deutschland
  • Mindelact Festival Sao Vincente / Mindelo - Kapverden (review)
  • Materia Prima Festival Krakau - Polen (review)
  • Festival Geo Condé Frouard - Frankreich